UTS combine with Sydney University each year to compete in the Australian Volleyball League.  In 2014, State Volleyball NSW has entered a 1 year partnership for the preparation and delivery of a men’s and a women’s team and hosting of NSW rounds.    The mens & womens teams will compete in the 2014 Australian Volleyball League under the banner UTSSU.

In 2014, the men finished the round games in 6th, missing out on finals in Melbourne.  The women finished 2nd after the rounds and went to the Melbourne finals confident.  They won the semifinal but were left agonizingly close, eventually going down in 5 sets in the Gold medal match to take Silver.

Check out http://utssu.wordpress.com/ for further information

The squads for 2014 are named below.

UTSSU Mens Squad 2014

Alex Minchin
Keith Suckling
Liam Watson
Lawrence Peters
Virgil Robingson
Nathan Lovett
Kieran Ackhurst
Tim Taylor
Artem Ipatyev
Nathan Healey
Dan Gauci
Ben Lalic
Jon Harding
Sam Morrison
Rob Fleury
Tyler Latu’ila
Steve Duzevich*
Anthony Rowda*

*Indicates Development Player

Head Coach: Mark Munter
Assistant Coach: Glen Duncombe
Assistant Coach: Alberto Flamigni
Strength & Conditioning Coach: Roger Jones

UTSSU Womens Squad 2014*

Elissa Blowes
Lacey Bruce*
Barbara Burba
Caitlin Cockburn
Alice de Innocent Iris
Wendy Edwards
Buddhima Fernando*
Jenelle Gordon
Clara Loth*
Kelly Mcleod
Laura Reeks
Sara Sangiorgio
Margaret Sarlej
Yoshiko Ueda

*Indicates Development Player

Head Coach: Yaegan Doran
Assistant Coach: Nam Pham
Assistant Coach: Dave Abdulla
Assistant Coach: Pat Lamaletie
Assistant Coach: Briianka Nest
Strength & Conditioning Coach: Roger Jones


For further information, visit the AVL Web Page

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: